I’m back into sampling again

Well, I’m back into sampling again

Here is a result that comes from when I when I did a deep dive into my E5000 Ultra.

This project started with me going through the E-mu E-synth sounds and finding the bass sound and the bass drum. I thought these two fit quite well together as a basis for Depeche Mode’s Behind the wheel.
With some testing of Alan Wilder’s E-max sound from the SOFAD tour, back in 1993. I started to feel that this is getting interesting and thinking about how to develop the idea further with only my E5000 Ultran…
All sounds are from the E5000 Ultran. The sounds I have used are the following:

Bass: from Emu E-synth with an extra layer sampled from Arturia’s Synclavier.
Synth melody: sampled from Arturia’s Synclavier
Arpeggio sound: sampled from Arturia’s Synclavier
Flute sound: first created on SQ8L (a VST version on Ensoniq SQ80), then edited in E5000
Guitar sounds: three different E-synth guitar sounds recorded in Cubase, edited with effects and then resampled into the E5000.
The marimba sound: from the E-synth
Kick: from E-synth
Snare: sampled from Alesis HR16
Tambourine: sampled from Alesis HR16 (is on the snare)
Hi-Hat: from E-synth
Crash: sampled from Alesis D4
Toms: sampled from Alesis HR16
Drum filter sound: a sample created from Arturia’s Minimoog.
First speech track: Text written into Natural Reader, voice “Jane”. Cut and edited in Cubase. Then sampled into the E5000 and re-recorded in to Cubase.
The 2nd voice (in the background): myself who read the text. Edited and effects applied in Cubase. Then sampled into the E5000 to be re-recorded in Cubase.
Cars: 2 different car sounds taken from racing cars that I found online.

Then and which I think is a bit cheating but fun to have is the sonar sound and the synth voice sound which is from Alan Wilder’s E-max library which is from the SOFAD tour, with some delay and reverb added on it. I was about to recreate the sonar sound myself, but felt that the sound would still sound exactly the same if I had sampled a sonar sound. I didn’t even bother trying to recreate the voice sound. Thought it could go as it is. The only thing is that I have added a bit of delay to it.

I hope you like it

Leave a comment